The Arctic is a homeland to many diverse indigenous communities with distinct histories, cultures, and livelihoods. Yet the communities all share a unique relationship with the Arctic, and they closely depend on the Arctic environment and their ability to reside on their traditional lands for cultural and economic survival. According to the Arctic Human Development Report, approximately four million indigenous peoples inhabit the eight Arctic countries: Canada, United States, Russia, Finland, Sweden, Norway, Iceland, and Denmark. Notably, the majority of the inhabitants (comprising more than one hundred ethnic groups) live in the Russian Arctic. . . .